Mass General HomeCenter for Faculty Development - A Resource for Faculty

The Office for Womenís Careers (OWC) at MGH is a branch of the Center for Faculty Development (CFD) and was created to foster a gender equitable environment to assure that women faculty will be given the same opportunity as men faculty to succeed in research and clinical careers at MGH.


The OWC, Office for Women's Careers, facilitates the career advancement of women faculty and trainees at MGH. Areas of emphasis for this office are to:

  • Affect the number of in leadership positions.
  • Increase the number promoted by academic criteria.
  • Increase retention and job satisfaction.
  • Develop and implement programs to promote career development and work life balance.
  • Provide individual counseling, advice and support.

OWC Advisory Council

Originally formed in September of 1993 by honorary trustee Jane D. Claflin, The Women in Academic Medicine (WAM) Committee at the MGH provided the original impetus for the creation of the Office for Women's Careers. The WAM Committee has been renamed the OWC Advisory Council. The OWC Advisory Council is comprised of administrative and faculty leaders and meets twice a year to provide oversight and review OWC priorities and activities.
Members include:

Stephen Calderwood, MD
Phyllis L. Carr, MD
David C. Chang, PhD
Jane Claflin, Hon. Trustee
Marcela Del Carmen, MD
Marie Demay, MD
Jeffrey Ecker, MD
Barbara Gilchrest, MD
Peter T. Greenspan, MD
Dina Hirshfeld-Becker, PhD
Anne Klibanski, MD

Donna Lawton, MS
Melissa L. Mattison, MD
Elizabeth Mort, MD
Elena Olson, JD
Sareh Parangi, MD
May C. Pian-Smith, MD
Martha Bishop Pitman, MD
Ann Prestipino, MPH
Nancy Rigotti, MD
Jerrold Rosenbaum, MD
Joan A. Sapir, EdM, MBA

Isaac Schiff, MD
Ann Skoczenski, PhD
Peggy Slasman
Jennifer Temel, MD
Elizabeth Temin, MD
Theodore Stern, MD
Erin Tracy, MD, MPH
Rochelle Walensky, MD
Debra Weinstein, MD
Jeanine Wiener-Kronish, MD
Malissa J. Wood, MD

OWC Committee

The OWC Committee is comprised of early- and mid-career women faculty, meets three times a year and takes a more active role in helping to identify needs and to design and implement activities.
Members include:

Alexy Arauz-Boudreau, MD
Maryam Asgari, MD
Meridale Baggett, MD
Lori Berkowitz, MD
Sherri-Ann Burnett-Bowie, MD
Susan Cotman, PhD
Alice Flaherty, MD, PhD

Vicki Fung, PhD
Emily Hyle, MD
Kate Jeffrey, PhD
Cassandra Kelleher, MD
Donna Lawton, MS
Kerri Palamara, MD
Nancy Rigotti, MD
Natalia Rost, MD

Margaret Samuels-Kalow, MD
Ann Skoczenski, PhD
Aliyah Sohani, MD
Anne Thorndike, MD, MPH
Linda J. Wang, MD, MBA
Deborah Wexler, MD
Joanna Yeh, PhD
Markella Zanni, MD

Graduate Student DivisionPost Doctoral Division Center for Faculty Development Office for Women's Careers Office for Research Career Development