Mass General HomeCenter for Faculty Development - A Resource for Faculty

Potts award logo

Sponsored by the Center for Faculty Development

The Center for Faculty Development created the John T. Potts, Jr., MD, Faculty Mentoring Award in 2011 to recognize and honor the mentoring contributions and to further build a "culture of mentoring" here at MGH. John T. Potts, Jr., MD, is the Jackson Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) and Harvard Medical School. He served as Chairman of the Department of Medicine at MGH and Physician-in-Chief from 1981 to 1996 and as Director of Research from 1995 to 2004. He has served as a tireless mentor and advisor to guide countless mentees on to successful career trajectories.

Created to honor Dr. Potts’ outstanding achievements in faculty mentoring, this award seeks to recognize senior faculty members (MD, PhD, or equivalent advanced degree) with 10 or more years of mentoring experience at MGH

This $5,000 award will be given to a faculty member from any MGH department who has contributed to the success of junior faculty members and trainees and demonstrated excellence in a number of ways including:

  • Having a positive impact on careers of junior faculty
  • Implementing ideas/programs that promote faculty success
  • Demonstrating sustained interest and success in mentoring of junior
    faculty and/or trainees
  • Fostering and encouraging professional development of junior faculty
    and trainees 
  • Facilitating and/or developing approaches to work-life balance.

Nominations for the 2019 John T. Potts, Jr., MD, Faculty Mentoring Award are now closed.

back to top ^

List of Award Recipients

2019 Recipient

Dr. Carlos A. Camargo Carlos A. Camargo Jr., MD, DrPH
Alasdair K.T. Conn, MD, Chair in Emergency Medicine, MGH;
Professor of Emergency Medicine & Medicine, HMS;
Professor of Epidemiology at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public

2018 Recipient

Dr. Rochelle Walensky Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH
Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases and Co-Director of the Medical Practice Evaluation Center, MGH;
Professor of Medicine, HMS

2017 Recipient

Dr. Jennifer Temel Jennifer Temel, MD
Director of the MGH Cancer Outcomes Research Program (CORe) and Clinical Director of Thoracic Oncology, MGH;
Professor of Medicine, HMS

2016 Recipient

Dr. David F.M. Brown David F.M. Brown, MD
Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, MGH;
MGH Trustees Professor of Emergency Medicine, HMS

2015 Recipient

Dr. Hasan Bazari Hasan Bazari, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, HMS; Director, The Morton N. Swartz, MD Initiative; Program Director Emeritus, Internal Medicine Residency Program, MGH

2014 Recipient

Dr. Stephen Calderwood Stephen B. Calderwood, MD
Morton N. Swartz MD Academy Professor of Medicine (Microbiology and Immunobiology), HMS; Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases; Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases; and Director of Undergraduate Medical Education at MGH

2013 Recipient

Dr. Isaac Schiff Isaac Schiff, MD
Joe Vincent Meigs Professor of Gynecology at Harvard Medical School and Chief of the MGH Vincent Obstetrics and Gynecology Service

2012 Recipient

Dr. Maurizio Fava

Maurizio Fava, MD
Slater Family Professor of Psychiatry at HMS; Executive Vice Chair, Department of Psychiatry; Director, Depression Clinical and Research Program (DCRP); Executive and the Director, Clinical Trials Network & Institute (CTNI) here at MGH

Inaugural Recipient

Dr. John Potts John T. Potts, Jr., MD
Jackson Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School


back to top ^

Office for Research Career DevelopmentCenter for Faculty Development Office for Women's Careers Graduate Student Division Post Doctoral Division